Yavapai County

Contact: Erin Kuiper

Email: outreach@azfb.org

Phone: (480) 635-3609


Yavapai County is one of Arizona's original territorial counties formed in 1864. The first territorial government in Arizona was established 20 miles north of present-day Prescott in 1863 and moved to the site of Prescott in 1864. The County encompasses 8,122 square miles. For comparison, the area is about the same size as the State of New Jersey! 

Thirty-eight percent of the land is administered by the U.S. Forest Service, 9% by the U. S. Bureau of Land Management, 27% by the State of Arizona, 26% is held privately by individuals or corporations, and less than 0.5% is held in trust as Indian Reservation. There are two sovereign Native American nations in Yavapai County – the Yavapai Prescott Indian Tribe and the Yavapai-Apache Nation, comprised of five Verde Valley tribal communities.

The principal industries today include tourism and recreation, ranching, manufacturing, and mining. Yavapai County raises cattle, alfalfa, and has numerous vineyards.

Local Leadership

Sharla Mortimer

Vice President
Tim Peterson

Emil Molin

Board Members
Mike Conerly
Gary Mortimer
Michael Pierce
Keith Cannon
Linda Lockett
Barbara Predmore

Womens Leadership
Sherrie Hanna

Young Farmer & Rancher Chair
Ashlee Mortimer

Click below to view our program of work.

2020 Program of Work.pdf

Upcoming Events

None at this time.

Bridging the gap between agriculture producers and public servants.

For more information please contact Elizabeth Rico at 480-635-3611.

Looking for your Local Farm Bureau Insurance agent?