By Julie Murphree, Arizona Farm Bureau Communication Director: Each Year, Arizona Farm Bureau honors those in agriculture that deserve recognition for outstanding achievements. 2016 is no exception and we have quite a group of honorees that we gave recognition to at our Service to Agriculture Awards Banquet last night at the Wigwam Resort in Litchfield Park, Arizona.

You’ll note that some of our award recipients’ names are linked to earlier articles we’ve written about them.

Media Awards – Television and Print: In agriculture we ask for fair and balanced reporting when it comes to issues affecting agriculture. We also appreciate a good feature on agriculture that reminds the public where food comes from and the issues that face us in the production of that food, fiber and fuel.

  1. Bobbie McDermott
  2. Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication

Environmental Stewardship: Each year, county Farm Bureaus looks into their backyards and see what conservation and environmental projects are occurring in agriculture.

  1. Warner Glenn
  2. George and Sharon Yard

Heritage Award: The Heritage Award recognizes individuals and families that are involved in agriculture and have given extraordinary voluntary service to their industry and to Farm Bureau.

  1. Sossaman Family
  2. Steve and Sharla Flake
  3. Ray Tyler
  4. Norman “Pete” Brawley

AITC Teacher of the Year: This year Arizona Farm Bureau is honored to recognize a dedicated educator: The Agriculture in the Classroom Teacher of the Year Award was created to recognize a teacher that has gone above and beyond to educate students about agriculture in partnership with the Arizona Farm Bureau’s Agriculture in the Classroom Program.

  1. Sarabeth Belvado

Farmer of the Year: Our Farmer or Rancher of the Year Awards represent the OSCAR of Farm Bureau. If you will---the best performance by a farmer or Rancher.  It represents an individual, or in this case individuals, in Arizona’s agricultural community that have shown exceptional leadership on an issue.

  1. David Sharp
  2. Art Allen
  3. Harold Maxwell

Distinguished Service to Arizona Agriculture: Each year the Arizona Farm Bureau selects a person for long-term service to Arizona agriculture. This person has served Arizona agriculture for many years, been active in many fields and made many contributions to our industry.

  1. Alan Seitz

Join our Family!